Parable of the Sower: Earthseed tenet

All that you touch You Change.  All that you Change, Changes you.  The only lasting truth is Change.  God is Change.

When I first read this tenet I also had difficulty grasping its meaning and had to reread it. I thought to myself to highlight it and I continued reading the chapter to see if I could get an understanding. After reading the chapter I went back and read the Earthseed tenet and just broke it down one line at a time. My understanding of the tenet is it means change will happen and that individuals can make change happen however also be affected by change themselves because change is inevitable. Butler is able to demonstrate how change is inevitable through the disappearance of Lauren’s father. We aren’t told the details of why he never returned but we know that the change came about for Lauren, her family and even the community with his absence.

“All that you touch You Change, All that you Change, Changes you.” For someone who could be looked as a leader, they make change happen for those that are following them but also could have change happening to themselves too. Self-Discovery can happen while in a leader position because you can realize strengths you might thought you did not have or would be able to do.

As for the last part, “God is Change”, means, to me, that God is the lasting truth. If the only lasting truth is change and God makes change happen then God is truth.  Of course I want to think that God only makes “good” change happen but I also understand that bad things happen and are necessary for good to come about. The bad is just preparing me for the good.

3 thoughts on “Parable of the Sower: Earthseed tenet

  1. Spelchelly, I like that you brought in the idea that self-discovery can come from change, and from reading more of Butler’s work I can definitely see this notion of leaders discovering more about themselves as a reoccurring theme. I think in this text particularly Lauren discovers that she doesn’t have to be so rigid in her beliefs, and that like Earthseed she must be fully open to change.

    1. I never even thought of it as self-discovery, but I really like how that’s framed. At first, I thought Olamina’s leadership qualities came from intuitiveness, but maybe the ability to self-reflect is more important. This is especially important if we’re considering truth from all points, so in order to be honest with herself as well as her companions, it would require her to be introspective. I think it makes a lot of sense, because in order to stay in touch with reality, she has to constantly be in touch with others and herself. She recognizes the change in herself when she is willing to add more people to group, especially after Nathan somewhat typecasted her as unfeeling leader. So her priorities change more as she assesses her own biases and feelings as well as those of the group.

  2. I just want to speak on the part of talking about God only bringing good change, but even in Earthseed there was the negative change brought about that God had allowed. So is it not that he only brings good but bad and this is to sometimes have the bad lead to good.

Leave a Reply

